Letters Of Leniency

10 March 2015

Letters of Leniency Sent to Judge Gershwin Drain

View the Sentencing Memorandum

Nadia Tonova, Director of National Network for Arab American Communities

Bishop Thomas J. Gumbleton

Samer E. Khalaf, Esq., President of American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee

Osama Siblani, Publisher of The Arab American News

Fr. Robert Bossie, Roman Catholic Priest, Priests of Sacred Heart

Louise Cainkar, Ph.D., Associate Professor at Marquette University

Rev. Dr. Donald E. Wagner, National Program Director of Friends of Sabeel—North America

Douglas E. Wingeier, Ph.D., Emeritus Professor at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary

Lisa A. Kosowski, Coordinator at Arab Jewish Partnership for Peace & Justice in the Middle East

Jordan Elgrably, Executive Director of Levantine Cultural Center

Junaid Rana, Associate Professor at Marquette University

Liz Deligio and Chris Eagan, Coordinators at 8th Day Center for Justice

Alie Kabba, Executive Director of United African Organization

Patricia R. Johnson, Canon Missioner at Washington National Cathedral

The Reverend Nancy S. Hildebrand, Associate Rector of St. David’s Episcopal Church, The Diocese of Washington

Peter H. S. Sporn, M.D., Professor of Medicine at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Rev. Michael L. Pfleger, Senior Pastor of the Faith Community of Saint Sabina

Mark Peters, Director of Justice, Peace and Reconciliation, Priests of the Sacred Heart USA

Daryle Brown, Executive Director of Multimedia Communications at Trinity United Church of Christ

Dale Asis, Former Executive Director of the Coalition of African, Arab, Asian, European and Latino Immigrants of Illinois

Shani Mandisa Moore, Health Law Attorney at Women’s Health and Justice Initiative

Rabbi Brant Rosen, Midwest Regional Director of American Friends Service Committee

Anna Guevarra, Professor at the University of Illinois at Chicago

Clarice Durham, Ted Pearson, Frank Chapman, Members of Chicago Alliance Against Racist & Political Repression

Jess Ghannam, Ph.D., Professor of Psychiatry at University of California San Francisco

Tracy Benson, Regional Manager at Community Justice Network for Youth

Lynn Pollack, Jewish Voice for Peace-Chicago

Lynette A. Jackson, Ph.D., Associate Professor at University of Illinois at Chicago

Ahmed Rehab, Executive Director at Council on American-Islamic Relations, Chicago

Richard Feldman, Board Member of James and Grace Lee Boggs Center to Nurture Community Leadership

Abder Ghouleh, Board Member of Arab-American Anti-Discrimination Committee, Chicago

Loren D. Lybarger, Associate Professor at University of Chicago

Lina Baroudi, Attorney at Law

Kalimah Johnson, LMSW, ACSW, LCSW, Founder and Executive Director of SASHA Center, INC.

Bro. Brian McLauchlin, SVD,

Rebeccah A. Sanders, Former Executive Director of the Chicago Cultural Alliance

Naomi Wallace, Playwright

Nida Sahouri, Chairwoman of American Muslims for Palestine—Chicago

Sara Kershnar, Founder of Generation Five

Lawrence Benito, Executive Director of the Illinois Coalition for Immigrant and Refugee Rights

Khalil Meek, Executive Director and Co-founder of Muslim Legal Fund of America

Robert Clarke, President of Chicago Committee to Defend the Bill of Rights

Caren Levy-Van Slyke, Chair of Committee for a Just Peace in Israel and Palestine

Imam Jamal Said, Director of Mosque Foundation

Standish E. Willis, Attorney at Law

Matt Ginsberg-Jaeckle, Co-founder of Southside Together Organizing for Power

Sue Udry, Executive Director of Defending Dissent Foundation

Wayne Wittman, Area Vice President of the Minnesota AFL-CIO Retirees Council

Fahd Ahmed, Acting Director of Desis Rising Up & Moving

Daniel L. Meyers, Attorney at Law

Kalman D. Resnick

Lisa Hajjar

Stephen F. Downs, Executive Director of The National Coalition to Protect Civil Freedoms

Marilyn Katz, President of MK Communications

Mary H. Smarr, Chair of Joining Hands for Justice in Israel & Palestine

Alexandra Halaby, North American Spokesperson and Media Liaison for International Middle East Media Center

Stan West

Joe Lombardo and Marilyn Levin, Co-ordinators at United National Antiwar Coalition

National Students for Justice in Palestine Steering Committee

Cherrene Horazuk and other Labor Union presidents and representatives

Toussaint Losier, Ph.D.

The Palestine Youth Movement

Jigna Desai, Ph.D., Dept. Chair and Professor at University of Minnesota

Jane Ramsey, Former Executive Director of the Jewish Council on Urban Affairs and President of Just Ventures LLC

Hedy Epstein, Holocaust survivor

Melinda Power, Attorney at Law

Khalid Meshal, Osama Meshal, and Mohammad Mashal

Mariam Obaid, Arab Women’s Committee

Maysoon Gharbieh

Halima Al-Rashdeh, Arab Women’s Committee

Beth E. Richie, Ph.D., Professor and Author

John F. Royal, President of Detroit/Michigan Chapter of National Lawyers Guild